My Husband Resents Me and Fixing It Would Bankrupt Us

Shire Lyon
9 min readApr 7, 2020
family and the changing role of women

Our story starts nearly fourteen years ago with humble beginnings and a marriage like any other. We had a baby, bought a house, all of the normal things you’d expect from a couple just like us. Don’t let our ordinary start fool you, though.

We continued on the culturally expected trajectory until we moved from Oklahoma, back to Connecticut, my home state. I’ve always been ambitious but having been newly introduced to marketing after spending time in the medical field, I was determined to eke out a successful career for myself.

I had not yet considered what that might look like, but I knew I wanted to stop worrying about paying the bills. I wanted to stop daydreaming about family vacations and start planning memories. With this in mind, I set myself to the task. I had to find a way to take my tiny salary and make it something impressive.

Grasping for Success

I read everything I could, I pushed for more responsibility and more money. As needed, I switched jobs to get a raise, a better position, new…

--

--

Shire Lyon

I’m a Mom, a blogger & marketer. Spending quality time with my family is imperative to me. Sustainability, the environment & healthy living are my passion.